Big money for South African Paralympians

Posted by Ralph | 11:29 AM

Photo: AP Photo by Jon Super

The South African paralympic team did very well in Beijing and were given the best kind of reward. Money! "The Beijing Paralympics medallists are: Du Toit (five golds), Pistorius (three golds), Langenhoven (three golds), Phillipa Johnson (two golds), Fanie van der Merwe (two golds), Ernst van Dyk (one gold, one bronze), Ilse Hayes (one gold, one silver), Fanie Lombaard (one gold, one bronze), Mokgalagadi (one bronze), Riaan Nel (one bronze), Tadhg Slattery (one bronze), David Roos (one silver), Gavin Kilpatrick (one bronze), Michael Thompson (one bronze), Charl Bouwer (one gold), Kevin Paul (one gold), Shireen Sapiro (one gold) and Nicholas Newman (one silver)."

"Athletes who won gold were given R66000 each, those who clinched silver each pocketed R44000, and R22000 each went to those who won bronze. This means Natalie du Toit received R330000 before tax for her five golds."


Stumble ThisFav This With TechnoratiAdd To Del.icio.usDigg ThisAdd To RedditAdd To FacebookAdd To Yahoo